I see on my scroll of links to Wine Spectator that they have given a favourable review to the 2006 Allen Scott Sauv Blanc from New Zealand. I can attest that this is good wine as I just had a bottle. In the US, this stuff retails for $14.00 USD. In BC, at the government run liquor store it sells for approx. $20.00-$22.00 CDN. Based on markup, taxes, exchange rate and so forth, probably not too out of line.

Last week after writing a work related exam for a diploma program I am taking, I stumbled out of SFU’s downtown campus to the wine shop across the street (you know who you are). Wine shops in BC are notorious for taking the government prices, which are already high, and adding 10% additional profit to them. This even though the government pricing has a profit margin built into the cost of the wine. So I expected to pay a little more at this shop. I bought a bottle of the Allen Scott and paid $29.00 CDN for it! I bought this before seeing the same wine at the government run liquor store a few days later. Additional markup was additional was 30-40% higher!

Moral of story, buyer beware in BC private wine and do not ever go to this certain wine shop. You will be gauged and ripped off.

As a side note, if you are looking for unique and interesting wines check out Marquis Wine Cellars on Davie Street. The staff are helpful and prices are at the set government listings…….

